

MOBIUS Executive Committee Official Minutes August 31, 1998

The MOBIUS Executive Committee met Monday, August 31, 1998 on the campus of the University of Missouri

Members present were: Cathye Dierberg, Rita Gulstad, Steve Stoan, Shirley Baker, Joan Clarke, Eldon Wallace, Erlene Rickerson, Martha Alexander, George Rickerson, Bill Mitchell, and Valerie Darst.

Erlene Rickerson called the meeting to order and distributed the agenda. Items added to the agenda were: Discussion of the presentation on MOBIUS to the Chief Academic Officers on September 3, 1998 and a report of the Nominating Committee.

The Executive Committee minutes of July 23 were corrected as follows: Joan Clarke's name was added to the attendance record and a phrase was added to the paragraph concerning posting of Executive Committee minutes to MOBIUS-L to reflect that minutes of Executive Sessions would not be posted. Steve Stoan moved that the minutes be accepted as corrected. Shirley Baker seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Erlene announced that an official letter from Fontbonne College had been received, changing their official representative to David Imler.

A discussion followed on MOBIUS Council meeting protocol. Various means of distinguishing voting members from guests/observers were discussed. A sign-in sheet, developed to help identify voting members, will be used in the future. Table tents with the names of individual voting representatives will be produced and used as both a table name tag and a voting flag at future meetings. This tent name tag will be available at the sign-in table. Proxies will need to pick up the official representative's tag so that they will be recognized as voting members for the meeting.

The functionality list for the CLP software was reviewed again by the Committee. This list will be used as a working list in developing a description package for the CLP software. Electronic reserves was added to the July 23th list.

A discussion was held on the election process of at-large members for this initial MOBIUS Executive Committee election. A random process will be used to stagger the terms as follows: the two independent institution representatives will serve staggered terms of one year and two years; the terms of the public two year representative and public four year representative will be staggered in the same manner. In addition the terms of the secretary and treasurer will be staggered with the secretary serving two years

and the treasurer three in this initial election only to establish the staggered terms required in the Bylaws.

A discussion on the MOBIUS presentation to the Chief Academic Officers of four year, public institutions followed. Martha Alexander and Erlene Rickerson will be making the presentation on September 3. The presentation will include an historical review of MOBIUS, status of budget process with the Legislature, status of the CLP project, and a description of the impact of Ohiolink in that state (Missouri's CLP project is similar to Ohiolink. The Executive Committee expressed the need for a packaged power point program on these topics so that the same message is being given to each group that requests information on MOBIUS.

George Rickerson left the meeting at this point.

The host site evaluation and selection process was discussed. Committee members were in agreement that Joe Ford's participation in this process is imperative. The document developed for a host site RFP will be used as a starting point in developing criteria for the evaluation and selection process. Erlene distributed three letters of interest received from institutions desiring to be the host site: Central Missouri State University, Truman State University and the University of Missouri System. After detailed discussion, the Executive Board recommended that a Task Force be appointed to do the following: a. formulate questions for and information needed from candidates; b. Receive responses; c. Interview candidates; d. Evaluate oral and written responses/materials of candidates; and e.Submit summary and recommendation to the Executive Committee. Pending acceptance the following people will serve on this Task Force: Cathye Dierberg, Steve Stoan, Julia Schneider, Paul Buchanan, Eldon Wallace, and Joe Ford. Joe Ford will be available September 30 - October 2 to work with this Task Force. Information on the three institutions interested in becoming the CLP host site will be shared at the September 11 Council meeting. The Executive Committee will meet October 12 to discuss the recommendation of the Task Force. It was suggested that the transition Executive Committee meet with the newly elected Executive Committee to conduct the host site selection. An electronic vote or Council meeting will be conducted on October 19 for the selection of the host site.

Bill Mitchell pointed out the current status of hub restrictions that would impact the host site selection. He will e-mail Executive Committee members with more information on this issue.

The Committee reviewed the process of selection for CLP software to date. Joan Clarke will develop a presentation for the Council meeting, September 11, and will present the following Executive Committee recommendation:

The Council authorizes the Executive Committee, in consultation with CBHE, to open negotiations with Innovative Interfaces, Inc. for the procurement of the common library platform system software.

The next Executive Committee meeting will be October 12, 9:30 a.m. at the CBHE offices in Jefferson City.

Valerie Darst Secretary

Valerie Darst Director of Library Services Moberly Area Community College 101 College Avenue Moberly, MO 65270 email: valeried@macc.cc.mo.us 660-362-4110 ext. 244